#24 – Clicking on Sketchy Links
One of the most common mistakes iPhone and Android users both make is by clicking on unknown links that contain malware or viruses. Better known as phishing scams and often disguised in text messages and emails that appear trustworthy to the untrained eye, clicking on the link or opening the attachment installs a type of malware—virus, ransomware, or spyware—onto your device and puts your private information at risk. Once a malware is installed, it could access your sensitive information and send phishing emails to everyone in your contact list.
With phishing scams becoming harder and harder to identify, it’s safer to err on the side of caution and delete any email or message that seems questionable. If the sender is legitimate, they will have other ways to contact you. Also, it’s important to remember that a legitimate business will never require you to share any personal or sensitive information over unsecure outlets like email or text.